Jakob's Album Reviews

Words About Music

Dum Dum Girls – “Too True” – ALBUM REVIEW

Dum Dum Girls “Too True”

DumDum_TooTrue_cover

Don’t you hate it when a band you like comes through with a mediocre record? It really does suck, and no matter how hot Dee Dee Penny is, “Too True” is a dud record.

Dum Dum Girls is a Los Angeles noise pop/indie rock group that are part of this recent West Coast boom of all-women groups that also includes acts like Warpaint and Haim. I found Dum Dum Girls intriguing initially because of their high energy dark-wave post-punk style that just felt super cool and fresh. Their 2011 album “Only in Dreams” still holds up to this day, if you ask me. They’ve turned that kind of cool Patti Smith/Blondie vibe into a Pat Benatar/Cyndi Lauper style on “Too True,” however. What once felt like post-punk with a hint of pop appeal now feels like an 80s pop rehash with a hint of post-punk appeal to people who’ve not yet discovered Savages.

I suppose I should’ve been able to tell from the cover of the album that Dum Dum Girls had changed stylistically in a way, with the focus more on Dee Dee and less on the Girls. While their first two albums and their EP “End of Daze” displayed a hint of humor, haziness, and mystique on their covers, “Too True” looks as cheesy as it tends to sound. But, as the saying goes, you can’t judge a book by its cover. So of course I listened to the record a few times and was able to conclude that, well, sometimes you can.

If I will say anything about “Too True” that is even vaguely positive, it’s that the hooks are catchy, the singing is still decent if nondescript, and and the production/mixing is well executed. I wouldn’t call the songwriting itself masterful or memorable, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t get “Rimbaud Eyes” stuck in my head every now and then.

Overall, Dum Dum Girls could’ve done better. I actually couldn’t even listen to this album all the way through the first time and almost considered not reviewing it. But, while I wouldn’t call it good, it does get to be a bit more tolerable over time. I probably won’t listen to it again, though.

SCORE – 4.3

FAVORITE TRACKS – Rimbaud Eyes, Too True to be Good, In the Wake of You, Trouble Is My Name

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , .
