Jakob's Album Reviews

Words About Music

Diarrhea Planet – “I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams” – ALBUM REVIEW

Diarrhea Planet “I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams”

diarrhea-planet-rich-cover-1376337342

Whatever preconceived notions you have of this band based on their name—which, by the way, is Diarrhea Planet—feel free to let go of them now. Because no matter what it is you’re expecting if you haven’t heard them before, they won’t sound like that. Even I was surprised, pleasantly, by the band’s sound. There are a lot of different genres and sounds at work here. There’s pop punk, post-rock, heavy metal, hard rock, garage rock, punk, glam rock, and tons more. Think if T. Rex, The Ramones, Pennywise, NOFX, The Darkness, and Tenacious D all fused their different strengths into one band. What you get is Diarrhea Planet, a 6-piece band which includes four(!) guitar players, one of which is the lead vocalist, a bassist, and a drummer. So yeah, it’s a bit of a strange album.

The first time I listened to this album, I started out by thinking that the music just wasn’t that good. I didn’t really like the singer’s voice at all, and I didn’t really enjoy the songs as a whole. By the end of the first listen, though, I found myself really enjoying what I’d heard. “I’m Rich” is an extremely catchy album. It’s a bombastic punk album that is full of raw emotion and some excellent guitar work. There’s riffs and shredding solos, but also some amazing melodies. At times I’d even call it a beautiful record. Now I never thought in a million years I’d think that an album by a band called Diarrhea Planet could ever be beautiful, but that’s really what it is. Strange and somewhat childish name aside, “I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams” is quite an amazing record and not at all befitting of a band called, once again, Diarrhea Planet.

I’m not quite sure what it is I find so appealing about this record beyond the fact that it’s extremely fun and catchy. Maybe I like it because it doesn’t take itself too seriously. It’s a fun record with some great lyrics and even greater riffs, but it’s still a lot of fun. It’s not a latter period blink-182 record. It’s not a “scene pop punk” record. It’s not a Butthole Surfers knockoff record. It’s just… Diarrhea Planet.

So you may see the name of this band and completely avoid this record, or you may be looking for a comedic rock record a la Psychostick or Tenacious D. Well let me just tell you, you should not avoid this album, and you shouldn’t assume it’s a comedic one. “I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams” is a hard rocking ass-kicking rollercoaster of emotion that is as triumphant as it is tragic. I know it sounds weird to tell someone they definitely need to check that new Diarrhea Planet record because it’s great, but that’s exactly what I’m saying. Because it’s great.

Diarrhea Planet.

SCORE – 8.7

FAVORITE TRACKS – Lite Dream, Separations, The Sound of My Ceiling Fan, Hammer of the Gods, Ugliest Son, White Girls, Togano, Skeleton Head, Emmett’s Vision 

Leave a Reply

